As is the case every year there are some fighters who stand out more then others and 2015 was no different. In this edition of the 4th Annual MMA Freak Awards, the Top 10 Fighters of 2015 will be listed.

Again as is the case, because of the varying opinions among the MMA Freak writers not all the nominated fighters made the list so those who won’t will be listed in the following honorable mentions list.

Honorable Mentions

Daniel Cormier – Didn’t start out the year great when he lost to Jon Jones but captured and defended the title.

Demian Maia – Won his three fights including a Performance of the Night against Neil Magny to a 4 win streak.

Fabricio Werdum – Arguably pulled an upset against Cain Velasquz in Mexico City to gain the championship.

Jose Aldo – Finally faced Conor McGregor at UFC 194 and unfortunately lost his featherweight championship.

Here are the Top 10 Fighters of 2015:

10) Jon Jones

Jon Jones successfully defended his UFC Light Heavyweight Championship against Daniel Cormier at UFC 182.

9) Max Holloway

On a role, Max Holloway won all four of his fights this year extending his current streak to eight dating from 2014.

8) Joanna Jedrzejczyk

Joanna Jedrzejczyk started off the year winning the strawweight title and successfully defended it twice more.

7) T.J. Dillashaw

In a last minute replacement, T.J. Dillashaw defended his title against Joe Soto then against Renan Barao.

6) Holly Holm

Holly Holm made her UFC debut then fought again before shocking the world by defeating Ronda Rousey.

5) Demetrious Johnson 

‘Mighty Mouse’ Demetrious Johnson defended his flyweight title against Kyoji Horiguchi and John Dodson.

4) Luke Rockhold

Luke Rockhold made 2015 a year of upsets against Lyoto Machida then against Chris Weidman for the title.

3) Robbie Lawler

Unfortunately only fighting once, Robbie Lawler had a fight of the year performance against Rory MacDonald. It again shows Lawler’s steadily evolving fighting game and his ability to actually finish MacDonald.

2) Rafael dos Anjos

Rafael dos Anjos started out with an upset against Anthony Pettis then defended against Donald Cerrone. The fact that he was able to shut down Pettis’ game and use Cerrone’s game against him is impressive.

1) Conor McGregor

Backing up his hype, Conor McGregor fought three times and won all three of them. His match against Dennis Siver earned him the title shot in which he earned the interim title against Chad Mendes then beat Jose Aldo.

Stay tuned for the wrap up of the 4th Annual MMA Freak Awards.